Research News

UW-Madison's Diana Hess and Paula McAvoy are co-winners of the University of Louisville's prestigious Grawemeyer Award in Education for their important work exploring the role of teachers in perpetuating serious, thoughtful political deliberation in schools. Such efforts are at the heart of a democratic education and these discussions help students understand diverse points of view and become more politically engaged adults. Grawemeyer winners will present lectures about their award-winning ideas when they visit Louisville in April to accept their $100,000 prizes.