Research News

UW-Madison’s Bal to be recognized by AERA for excellence in education research

April 19, 2017

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) has announced the winners of its 2017 awards for excellence in education research, and among those earning recognition is UW-Madison’s Aydin Bal, an assistant professor with the School of Education’s Department of Rehabilitation Psychology and Special Education.

Bal is receiving the Review of Research Award along with Alfredo Artiles and Sherman Dorn, both of Arizona State University. Together, the three authored the paper, "Objects of Protection, Enduring Nodes of Difference: Disability Intersections With 'Other' Differences, 1916-2016," which appeared in the Review of Research in Education in March 2016.

This award is given in recognition of an outstanding review of a research article appearing in the Review of Research in Education and the Review of Educational Research.

In addition, UW-Madison doctoral student Katharine Broton and co-authors Sara Goldrick-Rab (Temple University) and James Benson (Institute of Education Sciences with the U.S. Department of Education) are receiving the Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award for their report, “Working for College: The Causal Impacts of Financial Grants on Undergraduate Employment.”  This study appeared in the journal Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis in September 2016. Broton is a doctoral candidate in the Department of Sociology.

This award is in recognition of the lifelong achievement of Palmer O. Johnson as a dedicated educator, and further in recognition of his pioneer work in educational research and methodology. The award is given for an outstanding article appearing in an AERA-sponsored publication.

AERA will honor the recipients for their outstanding scholarship and service at the fifth annual Awards Luncheon, April 29, at the AERA Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

“This year’s award winners exemplify commitment to the study and practice of education,” AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine said in a news release. “We are proud to honor their outstanding scholarship and service to the field.”

To read about all of AERA’s 2017 award winners for excellence in education research, check out this news release.

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the largest national interdisciplinary research association devoted to the scientific study of education and learning. Founded in 1916, AERA advances knowledge about education, encourages scholarly inquiry related to education, and promotes the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.